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Owner-Occupancy Tax Reduction and Homestead Exemption deadline 

approaching, increased exemption for military veterans 
 

Summit County Fiscal Officer Kristen M. Scalise CPA, CFE reminds homeowners that 

the deadline for filing an application for the Owner-Occupancy Tax Reduction and 

Homestead Exemption for tax year 2014 is Monday, June 1, 2015.  These property 

tax reductions provide a significant savings to property owners in Summit County. 

 
The owner-occupancy credit is a 2 1/2% reduction in the taxes charged by qualified 

levies. To receive the owner-occupancy tax reduction, you must own and occupy 

your home as your principal place of residence on January 1 of the year you file for 

the reduction.  

 

The Homestead Exemption is a property tax reduction providing homeowners with an 

average savings of $535 per year.  Eligible homeowners receive an exemption on the 

first $25,000 of appraised value from taxation for a single family home.  The 

Homestead Exemption is available to those who are at least 65 years old, or are 

permanently and totally disabled under the age of 65. Their home must be owned 

and occupied as their primary place of residence as of January 1 of the tax year in 

which they apply.  

 

Due to the passage of Ohio House Bill 59, new applicants for the Homestead 

Exemption are subject to a means test. Qualifying homeowners must not have an 

annual household income over $30,500 if applying for tax year 2014, or $31,000 if 

applying for tax year 2015.  Household income includes the Ohio adjusted gross 

income of the owner and the owner's spouse.  The means test does not apply to 

veterans who qualify for the Military Veteran Homestead Exemption or homeowners 

who were enrolled in the Homestead Exemption prior to tax year 2014. 
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Last year Ohio Law introduced the Military Veteran Homestead Exemption, which 

provides an increased exemption for military veterans evaluated at 100% disability 

from a service-connected disability.  Under Ohio House Bill 85, qualifying military 

veterans receive an exemption on the first $50,000 of appraised value for a single 

family home regardless of annual household income.  

 

Homeowners who have moved to a new residence may continue to receive the 

Homestead Exemption on their new residence without being subject to a means test 

if they were enrolled prior to tax year 2014.  The new residence must be located in 

the state of Ohio and the homeowner is required to file a Homestead Addendum with 

the Fiscal Office by the first Monday of June in the year of application.  

 

Applications for these tax reductions are available the first Monday in January 

through the first Monday in June.  Homeowners may apply by mail or in-person at 

the Summit County Fiscal Office, 175 S. Main St., 3rd Floor, Akron, Ohio 44308.   To 

request an application by mail, please call 330-643-2661 or email 

summittreas@summitoh.net.  Forms can also be downloaded from the Fiscal Office’s 

website at http://FiscalOffice.summitoh.net.  

 

Applications must physically be in the Fiscal Office by close of business, 4 p.m. on 

Monday, June 1, 2015.  
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